Five Turncoat BJP MLAs Sworn In at Gujarat Vidhan Sabha

The turncoat BJP MLAs took oath as the Gujarat Assembly legislators before Speaker Shankar Chaudhary in Gandhinagar on Tuesday


GANDHINAGAR,GUJARAT : Five turncoat Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs), who recently secured victories in the Gujarat state assembly by-polls, were sworn in at the Gujarat Vidhan Sabha in Gandhinagar. The oath-taking ceremony was administered by the Speaker of the Gujarat Legislative Assembly, Shankarsinh Chaudhary.

The by-polls, held on May 7 concurrently with the Lok Sabha elections, were conducted across five constituencies in Gujarat: Vijapur, Porbandar, Manavadar, Khambhat, and Vaghodia. These elections were closely watched as they were expected to indicate the prevailing political sentiments in the state.

The newly elected MLAs include CJ Chavda from Vijapur, Arjun Modhwadia from Porbandar, Arvind Ladani from Manavadar, Chirag Patel from Khambhat, and Dharmendrasinh Vaghela from Vaghodia. Each of these politicians has a unique background and brings diverse experiences to the Gujarat Legislative Assembly.

CJ Chavda, who will represent Vijapur, has been a prominent figure in local politics and is known for his grassroots work. Arjun Modhwadia, elected from Porbandar, is a seasoned politician with a long history of political engagement and leadership roles. Arvind Ladani from Manavadar is noted for his focus on agricultural issues and rural development. Chirag Patel, representing Khambhat, has a strong background in business and entrepreneurship, while Dharmendrasinh Vaghela from Vaghodia is recognized for his work in social services and community development.

There’s also another way to look at the BJP’s fresh strength in the State assembly. While one seat of Visavdar is vacant, the other seat of Wav assembly seat is going to be vacant due to victory of Congress MLA Geniben Thakor in Lok Sabha polls. So out of 180 occupied seat, BJP has 161, meaning effectively 90 percent seats with the party at present.