AM/NS India win T-20 Corporate Cricket Tournament

AM/NS India won the toss and chose to bowl first in the final match played at AM/NS Stadium in its Hazira township


Hazira/Surat : The team of ArcelorMittal Nippon Steel India (AM/NS India) defeated Surat Municipal Corporation (SMC) team in the final of the AM/NS India T-20 Corporate Cricket Tournament to lift the trophy on Saturday. The tournament was organised by the Surat District Cricket Association (SDCA).

AM/NS India won the toss and chose to bowl first in the final match played at AM/NS Stadium in its Hazira township. The SMC team managed to score 128 runs for the loss of eight wickets. AM/NS India overhauled the target on the last ball of the match while losing nine wickets in the process.

Needing 16 runs to win off the last two years, AM/NS India scored nine runs in the 19th over, leaving them seven runs to score in the last over. The equation came down to two runs of the last ball. The requirement came down to one run off the last ball, which AM/NS India managed to score to win a close contest against a very good SMC team and lift the trophy.

AM/NS India’s Jay Devar was the man of the match for scoring 24 runs and claiming 4 wickets in his 4 overs. He was also named the man of the series. He scored total 104 runs and took 12 wickets in the tournament. Chirag Patel from SMC Team was announced as Best Batsman with a score of total 200 runs in 7 innings while Jagdish Selar from SMC Team secured as Best Bowler with a total of 14 wickets in 6 innings.

“The match we have just witnessed was fitting for a final. I congratulate both teams for their excellent performance and play that kept us hooked till the very last ball. I also take this opportunity to thank the other teams that participated in the tournament and Surat District Cricket Association for allowing us to host the matches,” said Dr. Anil Matoo, Head of Human Resource Operations, IR & Administration at AM/NS India.

SMC commissioner Shalini Agrawal was the Guest of Honour and SDCA Secretary Dr. Naimesh Desai was also present at the prize distribution ceremony. The 35-day long league saw a tournament between teams from a total of 20 major industry houses, Surat Police and SMC.