Burhanuddin, Mouboni top seeds for Bhavnagar TT meet 

Jayswal family to come out in full force on home turf


Gandhidham:  Surat’s Burhanuddin Malubhai is the top seed in the men’s and U-19 boys’ events of the Microsign 4th Gujarat State Ranking Table Tennis Tournament organised by Bhavnagar District Table Tennis Association (BDTTA) under the aegis of Gujarat State Table Tennis Association from July 13 to 16 to July 2 at the SAG Sports Complex in Bhavnagar.

The tournament is supported by Sports Authority of Gujarat.

Ahmedabad’s Mouboni Chatterjee reached on the top of the ladder in U-17 and U-15 girls’ events after some superb showing in the previous two tournaments and will look to continue her charge in Bhavnagar as well.

Bhavnagar’s favourite TT family-the Jayswal family-will be seen in full force on their home turf. Gujarat table tennis’ old war-horse Jignesh Jayswal, 44, had finished third in the previous tournament and looks set to defy age and spring surprises in front of his home crowd. Jignesh’s two daughters-Namna Jayswal and Riya Jayswal-are seeded 3 and 4 respectively in women’s and will find inspiration from their illustrious father Jignesh. Namna is on a high after she recently got picked in the Indian team for World University Table Tennis tournament to be held in Chengdu, China from July 28 to August 8.

Another Bhavnagar paddler-Dhey Jani-is U-17 boys’ top seed and hot favourite for the title.

Making a comeback after missing all het three rankings is Surat’s attacking paddler Filzah Fatema Kadri.

A total number of 591 entries have been received for Bhavnagar tournament which is hosting a state meet for first time since 2018.

“We are happy to host state ranking after a long gap. We are grateful to SAG for their providing wonderful venue. Preparations are done to give players the best facilities during the meet,” president, BDTTA and senior vice president GSTTA, Nisheeth Mehta said.

Top seeds: Men’s: Burhanuddin Malubhai  (SRT). Junior Boys (U-19): Burhanuddin Malubhaiwala (SRT). Junior Boys (U-17): Dhey Jani (BVN). Junior Girls (U-17): Mouboni Chatterjee (AHD). Sub-junior Boys (U-15): Malav Panchal (AHD). Sub-junior Girls (U-15): Mouboni Chatterjee (AHD). Cadet Boys (U13): Jenil Patel (AHD). Cadet Girls (U-13): Daniya Godil (SRT). Cadet Boys (U-11): Ansh Khamar (AHD).