44-year-old Jignesh stuns 2nd seed to storm into men’s quarters

Unseeded Hridan takes out top seed Sujal, enters U-15 final


Gandhidham : In a day full of upsets, a 44-year-old Jignesh Jayswal of Bhavnagar stole the limelight as the veteran paddler stun second seed Soham Bhattacharya 3-2 to book his men’s quarterfinal berth at the Indian Oil 3rd Gujarat State Ranking Table Tennis Tournament 2023 organised by Kachchh District Table Tennis Association (KDTTA) under the aegis of Gujarat State Table Tennis Association from June 29 to July 2 at the Late Shri M.P.Mittra Indoor Stadium, Haresh Sangtani Sports Complex in Gandhidham.

Men’s top seed Chitrax Bhatt of Ahmedabad too made an early exit after an unseeded Girish Jha of Ahmedabad put together a brilliant performance to beat his citymate 3-2 in the pre-quarterfinal match-up.

In the U-15 boys’ semifinal, unseeded Hridan Shah of Ahmedabad scripted a come-from-behind win over top seed Sujal Kukadia of Bhavnagar to set up a summit clash with second seed Malav Panchal of Ahmedabad.  The U-17 girls final will be played between top seed Mouboni Chatterjee and third seed Arnee Parmar while the U-19 boys final will see top seed Arman Shaikh take on his nemesis and second seed Burhanuddin Malubhaiwala.

Men’s pre-quarterfinal: Girish Jha (AHD) bt Chitrax Bhatt (AHD) (1) 11-8,11-4,3-11,7-11,12-10; Jignesh Jayswal (BVN) bt Soham Bhattacharya (2) (AHD) 8-11,11-6,10-12,11-5,12-10; Akshit Savla (8) (AHD) bt Janmejay Patel (ARV) 11-7,11-4,11-7; Jaynil Mehta (5) (RJT) bt Saurav Ghosh (BRD) 11-7,13-11,11-4; Burhanudin Malubhai (4) (SRT) bt Hardik Solanki (AHD) 11-3,8-11,11-4,11-7; Monish Dedhia (AHD) bt Dhyey Jani (BVN) 11-5,11-7,12-10; Dhairya Parmar (6) (AHD) bt Jalay Mehta (BRD) 11-6,9-11,13-11,11-8; Devarsh Vaghela (SRT) bt Karanpalsinh Jadeja (7) (BVN) 13-11,8-11,13-11,11-3

U-15 Boys Semifinal: Hridan Shah (AHD) bt Sujal Kukadia (1) (BVN) 6-11,11-4,10-12,11-4,11-4; Malav Panchal (2) (AHD) bt Pawan Kumar (3) (SRT) 5-11,10-12,11-7,11-7,11-6.

U-19 Boys: Semifinal: Burhanudin Malubhai (2) (SRT) bt Himansh Dahiya (3) (AHD) 12-10,11-8,11-13,7-11,11-4; Arman Shaikh (1) (ARV) bt Aayush Tanna (4) (SRT) 11-7,9-11,11-7,12-10

3rd and 4th: Himansh Dahiya (3) (AHD) bt Aayush Tanna (4) (SRT) 11-9,11-9,11-3

U-17 Girls: Semifinal: Mouboni Chatterjee (1) (AHD) bt Pratha Pawar (4) (AHD) 11-7,9-11,11-5,11-8; Arnee Parmar (3) (SRT) bt Jiya Trivedi (7) (AHD) 11-7,12-10,11-7

3rd and 4th: Pratha Pawar (4) (AHD) bt Jiya Trivedi (7) (AHD) 11-4,11-6,11-5

U-17 Boys Quarterfinal: Dhyey Jani (1) (BVN) bt Malav Panchal (AHD) 11-2,8-11,11-5,11-6; Harshvardhan Patel (5) (ARV) bt Janmejay Patel (4) (ARV) 11-6,4-11,12-10,11-8; Aayush Tanna (3) (SRT) bt Sujal Kukadia (BVN) 11-6,11-9,10-12,11-8; Himansh Dahiya (2) (AHD) bt Samarth Shekhawat (7) (SRT) 11-7,10-12,11-4,11-8.

Hopes Girls (U-11) 1st round: Siddhi Singhvi (7) (KCH) bt Dixitakaur Wadhvani (BVN) 11-6,11-8, 8-11,11-8.